8/11: Various Songs Upon Returning

“…and the softest lips ever / 25 years of waiting to kiss them / smiling and waiting / to bend down and kiss twice / the softest lips… in a dark little room / across the nation / you found myself racing / forgetting the strange and the hard / and the soft kiss / in the dark room…”

I’ve been listening to Will Oldham’s music incessantly and have not paid much attention to new music since I returned from California. All that time in the mountains changed a few things, but next week Laughter will be laughing again. In the meantime, please enjoy some sad songs from Boston, which is seeing an eternal rain.

DOWNLOAD: Laughter, 8/11/2008 – full show – .zip

01. Boduf Songs “Puke a Pitch Black Rainbow to the Sun” from Boduf Songs (2005) on Kranky

02. Songs:Ohia “Ring the Bell” from Didn’t It Rain (2002) on Secretly Canadian

03. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy “God’s Small Song” from The Letting Go (2006) on Drag City

04. Husker Du “59 Times the Pain” from New Day Rising (1984) on SST

05. Dead Meadow “Indian Bones” from Dead Meadow (2007) on Xemu

06. 12 Rounds “Pleasant Smell” from My Big Hero (1998) on Nothing

07. Talking Heads “No Compassion” from ’77 (1977) on Sire

08. Daniel Johnston “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Your Grievances” from Welcome To My World (2006) on Eternal Yip-Eye Music

09. Stereolab “Analogue Rock” from Transient Random Noise Bursts with Announcements (1993) on Elektra

10. Tom Waits “Jesus Gonna Be Here” from Bone Machine (1992) on Island

11. Swans “Song for Dead Time” from White Light from the Mouth of Infinity (1991) on Young God

12. TV on The Radio “Don’t Love You” from Desperate Youth, Blood-Thirsty Babes (2004) on Touch and Go

13. Phosphorescent “Lost Name” from Aw Come, Aw Wry (2005) on Misra

14. New Order “Ceremony” from Substance (1987) on Qwest

15. Spacemen 3 “How Does It Feel” from Playing With Fire (1989) on Fire Records

16. Four Tet “Spirit Fingers” from Rounds (2003) on Domino

17. Cat Power “Cross Bones Style” from Moon Pix (1998) on Matador

18. Iron and Wine “The Sea and the Rhythm” from The Sea and The Rhythm (2003) on Sub Pop

19. Starlight Mints “Inside of Me” from Drowaton (2006) on Barsuk

20. The Beach Boys “God Only Knows” from Pet Sounds (1996) on Capitol — originally released in 1966

21. Sigur Rós “Svefn-g-englar” from Agaetis Byrjun (1999) on Smekkleysa

22. Aereogramme “The Question is Complete” from A Story in White (2001) on Matador

23. Ghost of Monkshood “Goddesshand” from Spider Through the Fog (2004)  Self-Released


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s