02/03: The Form of the Body is Infinite and Shapeless Joy

AquinasRest in peace, Charles Cooper.

Highlights this week include music from lutenist Jozef Van Wissem, new Black Moth Super Rainbow, highlights from the always excellent Raster-noton label, new music from MV & EE, as well as Gregor Samsa, Giuseppe Ielasi, and Telefon Tel Aviv. That Gregor Samsa record will not be available until the second week of March and the Electric Wizard featured was indeed from a bootleg pulled from a radio station whose identity I’ve yet to pin down. Sorry about that, but the record is way out of print, fairly rare, and I haven’t bothered looking to see if anyone’s ripped a better copy or not.

I’ve updated my blog in a number of places. Lots of reviews have been added and I’ve updated information about myself. Interviews are still in the works and I’m now linking directly to the ZBC Archive streams. Remember that all shows are available for two weeks only. After that they disappear. I will not be uploading any shows once they’re going, end of story.

Expect to hear more new music next week; Raster-noton is off to a good start this year and the new Atom TM will likely be featured. I’ve also been listening to a band called Timber Timbre lately and rumors are flying about that new Bonnie “Prince” Billy material (from a live radio session) is floating around on the web. If I can find it, you know I’ll play it.

Thanks for listening.

NOTE: the ZBC Archives automatically index shows by the time they start – you may have to fast forward a minute or two into the MP3 to find the start of the show.


01. Telefon Tel Aviv “Helen of Troy” from Immolate Yourself (2009) on BPitch Control

02. Isan “Serene Driver” from Salle d’Isan (2001) on Morr Music

03. Lali Puna “6-0-3” from Tridecoder (1999) on Morr Music

04. Black Moth Super Rainbow “Feel the Drip” from Don’t You Want to Be in a Cult (2009) on Mexican Summer

05. White Lights “Dassin” from Black Acts (2008) on Smells Like Records

06. Giuseppe Ielasi “03” from Aix (2009) on 12K Records

07. Senking “Bohrer” from List (2007) on Raster-noton

08. Pixel “+40° 11 35.63 -112° 52 31.90” from The Drive (2009) on Raster-noton

09. Tate and Liles “Part 3” from Without Season (2005) on Twenty Hertz

10. Jozef Van Wissem “The Soul Leaves the Body in Eternal Glory” from A Priori (2008) on Incunabulum

11. Liars “Let’s Not Wrestle Mt. Heart Attack” from Drum’s Not Dead (2006) on Mute

12. Electric Wizard “The Processean” from The Processean (2008) on Rise Above Records

13. Rivulets “Get Out Alive” from Debridement (2003) on Chairkickers’ Union

14. MV & EE with the Golden Road “Weatherhead Hollow” from Drone Trailer (2009) on Dicristina Stair

15. I Heart Lung “Interoceans II (Overturning)” from Interoceans (2008) on Asthmatic Kitty Records

16. Gregor Samsa “Young and Old” from Over Air (2009) on The Kora Records

17. Tangerine Dream “Phaedra (Excerpt)” from Phaedra (1987) on Virgin — originally released in 1974


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s