5/12: final regular show of the summer

Magnolia Electric Co.

Magnolia Electric Co.

This week’s show is  the last regular broadcast of the summer from me. Responsibilities outside the studio are beginning to take over my life and I simply can’t be in the studio every week. That doesn’t mean you won’t find content being published to this site. I’ll be uploading mixes, reviews, interviews, photos, and news as often as my schedule allows.

You’ll find new music from Iron & Wine, Tara Jane O’Neil, James Blackshaw, Envenomist, and William Basinski on this show, as well as stand-out songs from Magnolia Electric Co., Corb Lund, Thomas Leer & Robert Rental, Asa Chang & Junray, and Nudge.

Magnolia Electric Co. is one of my favorite bands, but I rarely feature them or Songs: Ohia on the show for the same reason that I try to avoid playing Coil or Current 93 too often: I’m afraid I’d end up playing them every show. They’ve recently released a new 7″ and a new album is on the horizon. Their last proper album was 2006’s Fading Trails. In 2007 they released a box set with three records, one EP, and a DVD called Sojourner. Each disc featured new studio cuts, many of which had been performed on the road at some time or another. All of the Fading Trails songs were scattered across each disc, which provided a little insight into how Jason Molina arranged his records. As nice as it was to have that much new music from Molina, I’ve been waiting for the next Magnolia Electric Co. record to drop for too long! According to that link, Steve Albini is once more behind the mixing board and the album is tentatively titled A Map of the Falling Stars. It should be available sometime this year (I hope).

The band doesn’t have a ton of official videos out there, but you can check them out here and here. That second link is actually a Songs: Ohia song, but I’m not going to provide you with links to their music and not toss in one of their best songs. Lots of live footage is available on Youtube, too. Free bootlegs are also archived at their official website. You can hear me yelling approvingly (and drunkenly) on one or two of those, but I’m not saying on which one or two. Lets just say I was very excited to hear “I’ve Been Riding with the Ghost.” Many of those shows were recorded and then compressed to FLAC and many of them feature very high audio quality. Downloading those shows is a great way to get familiar with the band.

Thank you for listening these last couple of months; I hope to keep posting new and unusual music for you in the future. Check back for reviews, mixes, and interviews, as well as photographs and random bits of news as they come my way.

Talk to you soon.



01. Asa Chang & Junray “Hana” from Song Chang (2003) on Leaf

02. Tara Jane O’Neil “A Vertiginous One” from A Ways Away (2009) on K

03. Tinariwen “Toumast” from Aman Iman: Water Is Life (2007) on World Village

04. Fire on Fire “Haystack” from The Orchard (2008) on Young God

05. James Blackshaw “Key” from The Glass Bead Game (2009) on Young God

06. Iron & Wine “Love Vigilantes” from Around the Well (2009) on Sub Pop —  original by New Order

07. Wovenhand “Sparrow Falls” from Consider the Birds (2004) on Sounds Familyre

08. Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds “The Weeping Song” from The Best Of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (1998) on Mute

09. Calexico “Red Blooms” from carried to dust (2008) on Quarterstick Records

10. Magnolia Electric Co. “What Comes After the Blues” from Nashville Moon (2007) on Secretly Canadian — part of the Sojourner box set

11. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy “I Don’t Belong To Anyone” from Beware (2009) on Drag City

12. Corb Lund “Horse Soldier, Horse Soldier!” from Horse Soldier! Horse Soldier! (2007) on Stony Plain

13. Christina Carter “Dream Mother” from Living Contact (2004) on Kranky

14. Loren Chasse & Michael Northam “The Spectral Harvest” from The Otolith (2008) on The Helen Scarsdale Agency

15. Thomas Leer & Robert Rental “Connotations” from The Bridge (1979) on Industiral Records

16. Envenomist “Bestowal” from The Helix (2009) on Killer Pimp

17. Nudge “Idiolect” from Trick Doubt (2002) on Outward Music Company

18. Terminal Sound System “Firefly Butoh” from Constructing Towers (2008) on Extreme

19. John Bender “35B1” from I Don’t Remember Now / I Don’t Want To Talk About It (1980) on Record Sluts

20. William Basinski “92982.1 (Excerpt)” from 92982 (2009) on 2062 / Musex — recorded in 1982


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s