Mix: Melody Explosion in the Rossface Event + Jóhann Jóhannsson Tour and Interview + More

melody_explosions_rossface

A friend of mine took a listen to the last mix I posted and promptly told me that he wasn’t really into folk or country and that he’d like to hear more “in your face melodies” in future mixes. That’s him up there, his head exploding with Robert Crumb characters and all the awesome melodies I’ve packed into this mix. I’m not sure what counts as “in your face,” but there’s nary a trace of folk or country on this one and plenty of big melodies made to satisfy all the acoustic guitar-haters out there. As always, if any of the bands featured want this mix removed, shoot me an email and I’ll take down the link.

I’ll be on the air one week from today from 4pm to 6pm. I have lots of great new music to play for you that I’m very excited about. I also have a pre-recorded interview with Jóhann Jóhannsson in my possession, which I’ll broadcast in honor of his first American tour. That starts on the 25th of this month in New York. He’ll be playing in Boston on the 26th at the Cambridge YMCA Theatre.  You can check out the rest of the tour dates over at his Myspace site. The interview was conducted by Adam Wiltzie of Stars of the Lid. If you can’t listen on Sunday, I’ll post the interview to this site after the broadcast.

Hope you enjoy the music. New reviews will be posted in the next day or so.

DOWNLOAD: Melody Explosion in the Rossface Event

01. Death, “Let the World Turn” from …For the Whole World To See [1975, re-released 2009]
02. Cranes, “Everywhere” from Forever [1993]
03. Squarepusher, “Massif (Stay Strong)” from Big Loada [1997]
04. Einstürzende Neubauten, “Sand” from Halber Mensch [1985]
05. Tinariwen, “Cler Achel” from Aman Iman [2007]
06. Can, “I Want More” from Flow Motion [1976]
07. Ween, “The HIV Song” from Live At Stubb’s, 7/2000 [2002]
08. Tobacco w/ Aesop Rock, “Dirt” from Fucked Up Friends [2008]
09. AFX, “Reunion” from Chosen Lords [2006]
10. Trans Am, “I Want It All” from Red Line [2000]
11. Wire, “Champs” from Pink Flag [1977]
12. Battles, “S Z 2” from B EP [2004]
13. Keith Fullerton Whitman, “Stereo Music For Farfisa Compact Duo Deluxe, Drum Kit” from Multiples [2005]
14. Matmos w/ Terry Riley, “Hasish Master” from Supreme Balloon (LP only track) [2008]

One comment

  1. Ha! I think my lack of love for your last mix lies more with my crippled tastes than anything else, but I’m nevertheless eager to check this one out.

    Sincerely & Flatteredly,
    – Ross

Leave a Reply

