9/21: Well Begun is Just Half Done

to kill a petty bourgeoisieApologies for the late update. Edmund Husserl is currently taking up too much of my time and inducing fits of grammar-related rage.

I’ve posted a review below for To Kill A Petty Bourgeoisie’s latest album, Marlone, which is winning a lot of praise from a lot of different places, and rightfully so. Two songs from their new album are included in last week’s show. I’ll likely feature a third tomorrow.

I also had the chance to interview Mark McGee via email. The interview is available over at Brainwashed.com and features some discussion about musical influences, film, writing music, learning from the road, and touring with Boduf Songs, among other things. It’s a short article, but provides a window into the band’s world and what we can expect from them in the near future. Their video for “The Needle” just hit Brainwashed’s Video Podcast last week. It’s a fairly spooky montage that captures the band’s pseudo-gothic aesthetic pretty well. You can check it out by following this link and then clicking on the video podcast link. It’ll open in iTunes automatically.

A little over half way through the show WZBC’s transmitter died unexpectedly. The nature of this malfunction was finally apprehended and fixed, but it cost about 5 or so minutes worth of dead or mostly dead air. Hopefully that won’t happen again, but there’s nothing I can do about the missing music. My apologies.

Last show was almost entirely about rock ‘n’ roll, with just a few exceptions. This week’s will be a little more diverse. You can bet your mother’s fine china that Glenn Jones’ new album will be featured throughout the show as well as new music from Magnolia Electric Co., Causa Sui, and Burial with Four Tet. The possibility of some more country and folk-inspired music turning up on the show is pretty good.

Thanks for visiting. Talk to you tomorrow.



01. The Hylozoists “Bras D’or Lakes” from L’Île de Sept Villes (2009) on Outside Records

02. Charalambides “The Good Life” from Likeness (2007) on Kranky

03. Nancy Sinatra “Friday’s Child” from Boots: Nancy Sinatra’s All-Time Hits (1986) on Rhino — originally released on 7″ in 1966; written by Lee Hazlewood

04. Lungfish “Mother Made Me” from Rainbows from Atoms (1993) on Dischord

05. Husker Du “Never Talking to You Again” from Zen Arcade (1987) on SST

06. Polvo “Lucia” from In Prism (2009) on Merge Records

07. Sunny Day Real Estate “Spade and Parade” from S/t (2009) on Sub Pop — remastered: originally released in 1995 as the b-side on the “Friday” 7″

08. Einstürzende Neubauten “Was Ist Ist” from Ende Neu (2009) on Potomak — reissued; originally released in 1996 on Mute Records

09. Blackout Beach “Biloxi, In A Grove, Cleans Out His Eyes” from Skin of Evil (2009) on Soft Abuse

10. To Kill a Petty Bourgeoisie “The Needle” from Marlone (2009) on Kranky

11. Ride “Dreams Burn Down” from Nowhere (1990) on Creation


12. Mountains “Melodica” from Choral (2009) on Thrill Jockey

13. Jacaszek “Lament” from Treny (2008) on Gusstaff

14. Red House Painters “Medicine Bottle” from Down Colorful Hill (1992) on 4AD

15. The Oscillation “Comatone (Part One)” from Out of Phase (2007) on D.C. Recordings

16. Can “One More Night” from Ege Bamyasi (1972) on United Artists Records

17. To Kill a Petty Bourgeoisie “I Will Hang My Cape In Your Closet” from Marlone (2009) on Kranky


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s