9/28: (Could’ve Been) Acoustic Heaven

glenn_jones_brainwaves_2008This week there were no issues with the transmitter, but for some reason the ZBC Archives failed to record the first half of my show. Hopefully you had the chance to listen live, though. Naturally, the one show that wasn’t recorded in its entirety was one of my better shows this year. The second half has a ton of great stuff, however, so all is not lost. This week’s show features new music from Magnolia Electric Co. with Centro-Matic member Will Johnson as well as new stuff from Ganglians, Burial & Four Tet, Six Organs of Admittance, and Boston’s own Glenn Jones (pictured left, at Brainwaves 2008).

Glenn might be one of Boston’s best kept secrets. He is one of the founding members of Cul de Sac and a masterful guitarist with a talent rivaled only by greats like Robbie Basho or John Fahey. He plays in a style that will be familiar to fans of either of those greats, but Glenn doesn’t exactly follow either of them. His latest, Barbecue Bob in Fishtown, was released by Strange Attractors Audio House at the beginning of September and features nine new cuts, including his first piece for 5-string banjo and an almost hallucinatory piece that’s every bit as cosmic as anything Basho produced. Anyone in love with folk, country, or modern American music will be impressed by Glenn and happy to have his work in their collection. His compositions are varied and incredibly imaginative, the artwork on all of his albums are superb, and his liner notes are always entertaining and informative.

Thankfully, Glenn has been willing to talk about his work in the past. A couple years ago Jon Whitney from Brainwashed.com recorded Glenn performing in the studio and answering questions about his 2007 album Against Which the Sea Continually Beats. Huddled up in the small WZBC studio, Glenn talked about how he writes his music, working with guys like Jack Rose, and the art of the guitar in general. It’s a great three part video interview and I highly recommend watching it. You can find that interview right here.

Also included the second hour was some stellar psych-rock from Danish band Causa Sui. Over the course of this year (and part of 2008) the band has released a series of LPs under the name Summer Sessions. Unfortunately, German label Elektrohasch sold through each of the three volumes very quickly and currently has nothing for sale. Hopefully a CD re-issue isn’t far off, but for now you can check out the rest of their catalog or try to find their music by other means. I’ll be playing more from them next week.

Sorry the second broken broadcast in a row. Hopefully this will be the last of them. Thanks for the emails you’ve been sending and for the requests.


DOWNLOAD HOUR 2 (the only hour….) HERE!

01. A Place to Bury Strangers “In Your Heart” from In Your Heart (2009) on Mute

02. Psychic TV “Roman P” from Hex Sex: The Singles, Pt. 1 (1994) on Cleopatra

03. Ulrich Schnauss “Clear Day” from a strangely isolated place (2003) on Domino

04. Magnolia Electric Co. “Rider. Shadow. Wolf.” from Rider. Shadow. Wolf / Josephine 7″ (2009) on Secretly Canadian

05. Man Or Astro-Man? “Principles Unknown” from Experiment Zero (1996) on Touch and Go

06. Centro-Matic “Fountains of Fire” from Distance and Clime (2001) on idol

07. Glenn Jones “Barbecue Bob in Fishtown” from Barbecue Bob in Fishtown (2009) on Strange Attractors Audio House

08. Jack Rose and The Black Twig Pickers “Soft Steel Piston” from Jack Rose and The Black Twig Pickers (2009) on VHF Records

09. Fred Gerlach “Devil’s Brew” from Imagitional Anthem Volume Two (2006) on Tompkins Square

10. Angels of Light “On the Mountain” from …Sing “Other People” (2005) on Young God

11. Susanna and Bonnie “Prince” Billy “(I’ll Love You) Forever and Ever” from For Ever and Ever / In Spite of Ourselves 7″ (2009) on Tour Only

12. Mark Lanegan “Waiting on a Train” from Scraps at Midnight (1998) on Subpop


13. Six Organs of Admittance “Ursa Minor” from Luminous Night (2009) on Drag City

14. Causa Sui “Red Sun in June” from Summer Sessions Vol. 1 (2008) on Elektrohasch Schallplatten

15. Richard Bishop “Canned Goods & Firearms” from Polytheistic Fragments (2007) on Drag City

16. Ganglians “Hair” from Ganglians (2009) on Woodsist

17. Miles Davis “One and One” from On the Corner (1972) on Columbia?Legacy

18. Burial & Four Tet “Moth” from Moth / Wolf Club (2009) on Text Records

19. Sam Prekop “Something” from Who’s Your New Professor (2005) on Thrill Jockey

20. Magnolia Electric Co. “Josephine (Demo Version w/ Will Johnson)” from Rider. Shadow. Wolf / Josephine 7″ (2009) on Secretly Canadian

21. Glenn Jones “Keep It A Hundred Years” from Barbecue Bob in Fishtown (2009) on Strange Attractors Audio House

22. Songs: Ohia “Darling…” from Hecla and Griper (1998) on Secretly Canadian


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s