4/13: Hello My Name is Lucas and I’m a Taurus

I remember seeing The B-52s on MTV growing up and wondering why anybody would want to listen to them. “Just look at the way they dress, and who wants to listen to songs that happy?” I thought they were just a goof-off band, which meant I lost out on a bunch of good music. A couple days back my buddy Jon was playing Chicks on Speed and their cover of “Music for a Future Generation” came on. It reminded me of how much I liked The B-52s (well, the singles I’d heard) and how dumb I was for pretending not to because they weren’t cool enough or because they weren’t one of those bands you were supposed to like. Growing up around a bunch of kids whose older brothers only liked Nirvana and Rage Against the Machine could make life difficult sometimes. It was always fun telling kids what I listened to: “What, you like The Byrds? You must be a fag!”

Anyways, hearing Chicks on Speed made me want to play the original, which is a pretty hilarious and awesome song to begin with. The Chicks updated the song just a little, putting maybe more sarcasm into the vocal delivery than was there originally. The introductions used throughout the song make me laugh every time I hear them, maybe because I imagine valley girls from the most stereotypical part of California reciting them, or maybe because I’ve heard people introduce themselves that way before. Song seems a little too prescient really. Wonder which future generation the band had in mind? Here’s the video for the song if you’re interested:

Lots of other great stuff this week too, including a couple of Talking Heads songs that I just can’t get out of my head. I watched Stop Making Sense for the second time in a month last week. I’m tempted to watch it again. This is one of those few instances where I think the title “best ever” is really deserved, as in best concert performance ever put to DVD. I want to be in the Talking Heads every time I see it, if only because it looks like they’re having so much fun on stage. And who wouldn’t want to hang out with Tina Weymouth? Those bass lines are so damned sweet… especially on “Making Flippy Floppy” and “Slippery People.” Plus former Parliament-Funkadelic member Bernie Worrell is in the band with The Brothers Johnson guitarist Alex Weir, which just adds to the funkiness. It would’ve been miracle if the performance didn’t turn out well. Just watch this and try not to dance. It’s fucking impossible:

The only new thing this week is from a Madlib related project, titled The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble. I don’t have a whole lot to say about it right yet, except that the music doesn’t quite live up to the awesome name. It’s definitely spacey, but there’s a smooth jazz feel to it that rubs me the wrong way. Maybe it’ll grow on me. Maybe like Ron Burgundy I will learn to play jazz flute and storm a lady’s castle. You never know.

Hope you enjoy the music from this week, I think it’s a little more diverse than usual! Thanks for stopping by and listening…

LISTEN: HOUR 1

DANCE: HOUR 2

01. Talking Heads “Thank You for Sending Me an Angel” from More Songs About Buildings and Food (1978) on Sire

02. The B-52s “Song for a Future Generation” from Whammy! (1983) on Warner Bros

03. Chicks on Speed “Song for a Future Generation” from The Un-Releases (2000) on Chicks on Speed Records

04. Devo “Girl U Want” from Oh no! It’s Devo/Freedom of Choice (1993) on Virgin — originally released in 1980

05. Blondie “Rip Her to Shreds” from Blondie (1976) on Chrysalis

06. Wire “Mercy” from Chairs Missing (1978) on Harvest

07. Will Oldham “O Let It Be” from Joya (1997) on Drag City

08. Meat Puppets “Lake of Fire” from II (1983) on Rykodisc

09. Pixies “Break My Body” from Surfer Rosa (1988) on 4AD

10. Comets on Fire “Pussy Foot the Duke” from Blue Cathedral (2004) on Sub Pop

11. Magnetic Fields “Papa Was a Rodeo” from 69 Love Songs Vol. 2 (1999) on Merge

12. Tom Waits “Mockin’ Bird” from The Early Years Vol. 2 (1993) on Manifesto Records — recorded 1971

13. Leonard Cohen “So Long, Marianne” from Songs of Leonard Cohen (1967) on Columbia

14. Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds “People Ain’t No Good” from The Boatman’s Call (1997) on Mute

15. Stereolab “French Disko” from Refried Ectoplasm (Switched On Vol 2) (1995) on Duophonic

16. Jacques Dutronc “Et Moi, Et, Moi, Et Moi” from Jacques Dutronc (2001) on Camden — recorded 1966

17. The Clientele “House On Fire” from The Violet Hour (2003) on Merge

18. The Brian Jonestown Massacre “Straight Up and Down” from Take It From the Man (1996) on Bomp

19. Television “Friction” from Marquee Moon (1977) on Elektra

20. Scout Niblett “Hide and Seek” from This Fool Can Die Now (2007) on Too Pure

21. Neutral Milk Hotel “Song Against Sex” from On Avery Island (1996) on Merge

22. Funkadelic “Music for My Mother” from Funkadelic (1970) on Ace/Westbound

23. Talking Heads “Making Flippy Floppy” from Speaking in Tongues (1985) on Sire

24. Ananda Shankar “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” from What It Is! (2007) on Rhino

25. The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble “The Trane & The Pharoah” from Miles Away (2010) on Stone’s Throw

Leave a Reply

